de Beaumont Foundation Announces the Inaugural 40 Under 40 in Public Health

Meet the 40 rising stars who are bringing creative approaches and
innovative health solutions to U.S. communities

WASHINGTON–(BUSINESS WIRE)–lt;a href=”” target=”_blank”gt;#40Under40lt;/agt;–The de
Beaumont Foundation
today announced honorees for its inaugural list
of 40
Under 40 in Public Health
. Twenty-four women and 16 men from 23
states and one U.S. commonwealth were selected for their new ideas,
creative approaches and innovative solutions to improve community
health. For full information and a summary of their accomplishments,

“We launched 40 Under 40 to personalize the public health field and
showcase the creativity and commitment of the individuals who are
strengthening the health of our nation’s communities,” said Brian C.
Castrucci, DrPH, president and CEO of the de Beaumont Foundation. “By
elevating the work and voices of these leaders, we hope to attract and
inspire other professionals to bring creativity and innovation to the
future of public health.”

The honorees’ job titles range from health commissioner and director of
health equity to doula and epidemiologist. Each individual has helped to
strengthen their community and has made significant contributions to the
field of public health. The 2019 40 Under 40 in Public Health are:

  • Mark Abraham, DataHaven
  • Jonathan Ballard, New Hampshire Department of Health and Human
  • Colleen Healy Boufides, Network for Public Health Law –
    Mid-States Region/University of Michigan School of Public Health
  • Leah Casanave, Douglas County Health Department
  • Megan Cunningham, Chicago Department of Health
  • Christa Cupp, Wisconsin Department of Health Services
  • Corey Davis, Network for Public Health Law
  • Julian Drix, Rhode Island Department of Health
  • Jessica Gehle, Tacoma-Pierce County Health Department
  • Eric Harkness, Tennessee Department of Health
  • Brett Harris, New York State Office of Mental Health
  • Kristine Hollingsworth, Florida Department of Health – Collier
  • Jeffrey Hom, Philadelphia Department of Public Health
  • Jeffrey Howard, Kentucky Department for Public Health
  • Devin Hursey, Missouri HIV Justice Coalition
  • Sami Kamal Jarrah, Philadelphia Department of Public Health
  • Joseph Kanter, Louisiana Department of Health
  • Joneigh Khaldun, Michigan Department of Health and Human
  • Jesse Lava, Chicago Department of Public Health
  • Jacqualyn Littlepage, Lake County Public Health Agency
  • Brittany Marshall, CDC Foundation
  • Megan McClaire, Los Angeles County Department of Public Health
  • Mac McCullough, Arizona State University
  • William Moore, Saint Paul Ramsey County Department of Public
  • Sarah Moyer, Louisville Metro Department of Public Health and
  • Carolyn Mullen, Association of State and Territorial Health
  • Kaitlyn Neises-Mocanu, Commonwealth Healthcare Corporation,
    Northern Mariana Islands
  • Amy Olejniczak, Wisconsin Alliance for Women’s Health
  • Aysha Pamukcu, ChangeLab Solutions
  • Jamila Porter, Safe States Alliance
  • Lauren Powell, Virginia Department of Health
  • Syretta Shealey, Chicago Public Schools, Office of Student
    Health and Wellness
  • AZ Snyder, Pierce County Public Health Department
  • Kenneth Steel, Maricopa County Department of Public Health
  • Jovonni Spinner, Food and Drug Administration
  • Alison Traynor, North Dakota Department of Health
  • Sameer Vohra, Southern Illinois University School of Medicine
  • Elizabeth Walsh, City of Kansas City, Mo. Health Department
  • Yi Wang, Indiana University Richard M. Fairbanks School of
    Public Health
  • Mariah Wilberg, Minnesota Department of Health

Nominees were evaluated by a distinguished panel of professionals from
the nonprofit, business, and higher education sectors on their
demonstrated leadership, contributions to their community’s health, and
collaboration with other organizations.

The 2019 judges panel includes:

  • Derrick Feldmann, Senior Advisor Research and Consultancy Services, Ad
  • Carrie Fox, President and CEO, Mission Partners
  • Robert Fullilove, EdD, MS, Professor, Sociomedical Sciences at the
    Columbia University Medical Center, Associate Dean, Community and
    Minority Affairs, Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health
  • Sarah Martin, PhD, MPH, MPP, Director of Public Health, mySidewalk
  • Judy Monroe, MD, President and CEO, CDC Foundation
  • Thomas Quade, MA, MPH, CPH, FRSPH, Health Commissioner, Geauga County
    Public Health
  • Kris Risley, DrPH, CPCC, Managing Director for Workforce, de Beaumont
  • Katie Sellers, DrPH, CPH, Vice President for Impact, de Beaumont

To learn more about the honorees and their accomplishments, visit

About the de Beaumont Foundation

The de Beaumont Foundation creates and invests in bold solutions to
build healthier communities. The Foundation advances policy, builds
partnerships, and strengthens public health to create communities where
people can achieve their best possible health.


Arron Neal, 213-568-3334
[email protected]

error: Content is protected !!